Taking flight

I watched a kite surfer at the beach today, at dusk. His red and blue kite soared against the golden sunset while he leapt among the crashing waves. Unable to resist, my heart leapt along with him. What an exhilarating moment. For one split second I forgot that I was earthbound, and my spirit jumped up on the wings of the wind, defying gravity.

Usually, as soon as I feel my heart taking flight with happiness, I automatically start bracing myself for the crash. But this island is magic, and somehow the roaring waves and the rushing wind drowned out the voices telling me to be afraid. My heart feels full, but inexplicably light.

In the one week and three days that I’ve been here, I feel like I’m starting a different lifetime. I’m trying to learn how to be me again. I’m trying to figure out what that means, and how to keep doing it when it’s a lot easier to be someone else.  I don’t know if I’m doing it right, but I’m trying.

For what it’s worth (and I think it’s worth a lot), this seems to be the right place for learning how to be oneself. I think this is exactly where I’m meant to be right now. After all, it takes a little bit of magic to teach an earthbound girl how to fly.


3 thoughts on “Taking flight

Leave a Reply

