Siren Call

Put me in a bottle and throw me to the waves. Let me float away into the unknown, let me submit to the will of the tides. Not for cleansing or absolution, for there is no ocean deep enough to dilute guilt, no current strong enough to wash away regrets. But escape…escape the waters can give. The choice of the coward, the way of the weak, but also of the desperate.

I will drift away from everyone I love, everyone I’ve hurt. I will sail from offered faith that I can never deserve.  I will let myself be tossed in turbulent waters, until I am forgotten, until I forget. Far from home, far from what I want to be and should be and yet cannot become. Far away.

The sea beckons to me — a kindred spirit as fickle, as inconstant as my conflicted soul. I long to surrender, for I am beyond tired. There is no rest in the world I’m in. No rest. I long to surrender.

So put me in a bottle and throw me to the waves. Let me float away into the unknown. Let me be as lost to the world as I already am inside. Perhaps then I can be found.

7 thoughts on “Siren Call

  1. There is something timeless about this, or perhaps ancient. It makes me think of all the stories about men escaping with the sea. The feeling this voice is conveying is very true and universal.

  2. No matter how “lost” you may feel. there would always be a “home” in my heart that you can always come to…

Leave a Reply

