Day 27 — The friendliest person you knew for only one day

I think the eyes flirt most. There are so many ways to use them.

~Anna Held

Dear gorgeous stranger on the ship,

Okay, so you’re cute. And charming, and smart, and funny — in fact, you had me laughing despite my reluctance to encourage your romantic overtures. What can I say? You had that mysterious confidence that drew people in and made them feel lucky to have caught your attention. And you mastered every trick in the book. A memorable introduction by helping me carry my luggage to the ship? Check. Compliments that actually came off as sincere instead of slick? Check. Intelligent comments on the book I was reading? Check. You even managed to pull off the tricky move of catching me in your arms when I slipped and fell. Well played, so far, well played. Before the 24-hour voyage from Manila to Puerto Princesa was half over, you had turned the other passengers into a captivated audience waiting to see if I would finally give in to your charm. The boring trip was starting to feel like an episode of The Love Boat.

 

But here’s the thing. There’s a warning you must have missed in the flirting manual, so I guess it’s up to me to tell you this. Pay attention: Dude. Never, ever, ever ask a random stranger to marry you less than 24 hours after you learn her name. You can flirt with her a little (or in my case, a lot), you can try your best to get her number (and in my case, ALMOST succeed), but you do NOT propose. Seriously, that just crossed the line from real life into romcom land, and I happen to be one of those people who prefer high fantasy and science fiction for my entertainment. Granted, there are women who’d fall for the line, “If I don’t ask you to be mine, I will regret it for the rest of my life.” But that situation’s even worse. I mean, what if I was one of them? What if I actually said yes? Would you have asked the captain to marry us right then and there, and then sailed off with me into the sunset? Yeah, right. You’re obviously having too much fun being the unforgettable stranger that women spend a few fleeting moments with and then remember for the rest of their lives to settle down. Even a romance amateur like me can see that.

 

So no more proposals, okay? Save it for when you mean it. Although, to tell you honestly, I have the sneaking suspicion that when that girl comes along, all your confidence would fly out of the window and you’d have to scramble to keep up with her. Now that is one romantic comedy I would actually like to see.

By the way, you did succeed, despite the wrong move with the proposal. You’re still my unforgettable stranger. If only real life could be written by Nicholas Sparks, you know I would have said yes.

 

Remembering you with a smile,

The girl who said no

 

3 thoughts on “Day 27 — The friendliest person you knew for only one day

Leave a Reply

