Day 8 — Your favorite internet friend

“Hey, how ya doin?” ~ you

Hey, you.

Who would’ve thought that a simple posting of a Pablo Neruda poem on my profile would lead to a new friendship? You saw it, and it must have struck a chord, because you messaged me to ask for the link. Thinking nothing of it, I replied. You were just a friend of a friend, what more could happen?

But something more did happen. “Tonight, I write the saddest lines,” Neruda wrote. And one night, you wrote to me about your loss, your might-have-been. Before I knew it, I was sharing my story, too.  Maybe the fact that you were a stranger made it easier at first. After all, you had no expectations of me, no image that I had to live up to. I could just be myself. If it didn’t work out, no big deal, right? But the more we talked, the less you seemed like a stranger and more like someone I could actually care about.

Isn’t it funny how life can be so random sometimes? Something you thought would last forever  crashes and burns before you know it, and something that started so insignificantly becomes something to look forward to. Like a  poem bridging the gap between two people who could not be more different from each other.

So I guess what I’m really trying to say is, I think you’re pretty cool. I’m not the easiest person to get to know, but you might get there eventually. Who knows? After all, stranger things have happened. Especially on the Internet. 🙂

One of these days, soon, I’ll take you up on your ice cream invitation. I promise you, I do exist outside of Facebook.

It’s me,

Abbie


Share

Leave a Reply

