Best Movie Moments

Just so you know how cheesy I really am, I made a list of those special screen moments that remain in my mind long after the credits roll. I may have gone a little overboard in the “goodbye” category, though. For some reason, I remember more tearful scenes than happy ones. For example, I could find only two winners for the “kiss” and “almost-kiss” (you know, those times when there’s this tension in the air but they never quite get there) categories. Anyway, I expect to keep updating this list in the future.

FAVORITE DANCE

#3. The Lindler by Capt. Von Trapp and Maria in The Sound of Music

#2. Sixteen Going on Seventeen by Rolfe and Leizl in The Sound of Music

#1. King Mongkut and Anna’s last waltz in Anna and the King (absolutely unforgettable)

FAVORITE “I LOVE YOU”

#3. “Can’t you see? Every step I have taken, since I was a child on that bridge, has been to bring me closer to you.” – Sayuki to the Chairman in Memoirs of a Geisha

#2. You gave me peace in a lifetime of war.” – Achilles to Briseis in Troy

#1. “I choose a mortal life.” – Arwen to Aragorn in The Fellowship of the Ring

FAVORITE KISS

#2. Peter and Wendy in Capt. Hook’s ship in Peter Pan (2003 version)

#1. Arwen and Aragorn at Aragorn’s coronation in The Return of the King

FAVORITE ALMOST-KISS

#2. Jesse and Celine in the listening booth in Before Sunrise

#1. Anna and King Mongkut at the beach in Anna and the King

FAVORITE GOODBYE

#7. “We’ll always have Paris.” – Rick to Ilsa in Casablanca

#6. “It was a dream, Arwen. Nothing more.” – Aragorn to Arwen in The Return of the King

#5. “If I die..” “No!” “If I die, I don’t know how much longer Troy will stand.”- Hector and Andromache in Troy

#4. “Yeah…okay…. I’ll see you at home…. Please, Jimmy? I’ll see you at home?” – Mae to Jim in Cinderella Man

#3. “You will never age for me, nor fade, nor die…” – Will Shakespeare to Viola in Shakespeare in Love

#2. “Your majesty, promise me! Promise me that I will see you again.” – Anna to King Mongkut in Anna and the King

#1.”We set out to save the Shire, Sam. And it has been saved. But not for me.” – Frodo to Sam in The Return of the King

Share

One thought on “Best Movie Moments

Leave a Reply

